Skip to content
background image background image

Player of the Year

Learn how the NCGA Player of the Year points program works. View current standings, past winners and resources for tournament managers.

Ball tee

How It Works

All players begin each new points year at zero. The tournament finish date determines which year points will be awarded. Should a date change cause an event to be played twice in one points year, points will be awarded twice within that given year.

In order to earn NCGA Player Points, contestants must be amateur golfers who are current members of a club in good standing with the NCGA. Players must have a current numeric index listed on the master report prior to the start of the event.

All points will be assigned by the NCGA ONLY based on the official results provided by the tournament.

Tournament Manager Resources

Are you a tournament manager responsible for reporting points? Below are the resources you will need.
For submissions and points-related questions, contact Ryan Toole,

2023 Players of the Year

Congratulations to the 2022-2023 NCGA Players of the Year!

Bobby Bucey – Men’s Division

Lauren Gebauer – Women’s Division

Randy Haag – Senior Men’s Division

Karen Garcia – Senior Women’s Division

Joey Ferrari – Super Senior Division

Geb 500
1110 x 1342 randy haag

Points Program History and Previous Winners

The NCGA Points Program has determined the Player of the Year since 1971. A Senior Player of the Year award was added in 1995, and a Super Senior Player of the Year award was added in 2015. In 2016, a Women’s Player of the Year and Senior Women’s Player of the Year were also added to the points program.

Former NCGA great Spencer Levin established a record in 2004, earning 2,770 points on the strength of California State Amateur and NCGA Amateur titles, as well as low amateur honors at the U.S. Open. The senior record was established in 2013 by Sunnyvale‘s Jim Knoll with 3,003 points.

Burlingame’s Randy Haag (seen left) has the distinction of holding the most Player of the Year Awards at six, with Casey Boyns next at four. When he won his first Senior title in 2017, Haag became the first player in NCGA history to have won both a Player of the Year and Senior Player of the Year title.

Latest News