Volunteer with the NCGA

The NCGA’s more than 300 volunteers make everything we do possible. Tournament officials administer our championships and other events; the course raters assign course rating and slope information to each course in the region.


We invite you to join the team!

Volunteer with the NCGA!


Tournament officials are responsible for conducting all NCGA tournaments, functioning as rules officials and monitoring the pace of play to ensure a first-rate experience for the competitors. A Rules certification program is available for volunteers seeking advanced training.

Course raters operate in teams of 8-14 and in a two-to-three hour process, evaluate the obstacles encountered on a course that impact scoring such as topography, rough and recoverability and green target. The course being rated is also played to confirm the numbers assigned.


Volunteers receive many benefits through their involvement with the NCGA ranging from free golf at Poppy HIlls or PoppyRidge (sometimes at Spyglass Hill), free uniforms as well as a 30% discount in the Poppy Hills and Poppy Ridge golf shops. Tournament officials also provide valuable service to some of the highest profile events in region such as the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro Am, the Charles Schwab Cup, The PURE Insurance Championship Impacting The First Tee and the California Amateur.


If you are interested in the Rules of Golf and assisting in tournament administration, please fill out this online form.

Application Deadlines: June 1-November 30, confirmed tournament officials will start service in the Spring. December 1-May 31, confirmed tournament officials will start service in the Fall.

An experienced tournament official will interview you in the near future.  You will then be asked to attend one day of a tournament conducted by the NCGA where you will meet with an NCGA Staff member or a member of the Board of Directors and experience a typical tournament day.  This will give you the opportunity to have your questions answered regarding our programs.

While the Association is actively seeking more tournament officials, the path to becoming a course rater has a waiting list. Contact NCGA Assistant Director of Course Rating Jeremy Gray for more information on the current wait list and process in becoming a course rater.

Thank you for your interest in becoming an NCGA volunteer. You will find that this is an exceptional group of people.

Volunteers of the Year

Each year, the NCGA recognizes its top Tournament Officials and Course Raters from the previous season.

The NCGA thanks all of its volunteers for their service. Without you, it doesn’t happen!

Tournament Official of the Year

Year Volunteer
2022 Joe Cioni
2021 Drew Boyd
2020 Phil Sexton
2019 Lynne Gangi
2018 Joan Caldwell
2017 Michael Sheragy
2016 Karl Rodefer
2015 KC Cote
2014 Peter Leimpeter
2013 Sandra Hinzmann
2012 Doug Beaumont
2011 Robert Read
2010 Harry Galloway
2009 Paul Yost
2008 Frank and Madeline Sally
2007 John LoFranco
2006 Don Armitstead
2005 Howard Arquette
2004 Bill Downs
2003 Betsy Pelkan
2002 Roy Riddle
2001 Eldon Evans
2000 Ken Rickey
1999 Bruce Vogel
1998 Bill Provan
1997 Bill Niblock
1996 Freddie Woods
1995 Tony Matulich
1994 Mike Shannon
1993 Bill Chandler
1992 Tom Hughes
1991 Don Messick
1990 Al Lewis
1989 Oscar Maddox
1988 John Gilbert
1987 Bill Coons
1986 Bernie Austin
1985 Charles Oler
1984 Lynn Lawson
1983 Al Elbe
1982 Emory Bianchini
1981 Huey Long
1980 George Galios

Course Rater of the Year

Year Volunteer
2022 Alicia Meiners
2021 Jerry Zavagno
2020 Kern Hunewill
2019 Keith Schwartz
2018 Jim Mahaney
2017 Ed Hashim
2016 Thomas Huckaby
2015 Chuck Jett
2014 Richard Schoellhorn
2013 William Hagan
2012 David Pearson
2011 Bill Lang
2010 Steve McIlraith
2009 Bennett Smith
2008 Pete Pizzino
2007 Bill Carr
2006 Ken Rogers
2005 Brad Carley
2004 Dennis Perry
2003 John Erskine
2002 John Cronick
2001 George Hoberg
2000 Don Riess
1999 George Cathcart
1998 Mark Curtis
1997 Ray Matous
1996 Russ Adamson
1995 Tony Matulich
1994 Mike Shannon
1993 No Award
1992 Tom Hughes
1991 Ramsey Underwood
1990 John Szarka