The NCGA Hall of Fame was founded in 2011 to celebrate the rich and storied history of golf in Northern California, and to preserve and honor the legacies of those who have dramatically shaped and impacted the game in the region and beyond.

NCGA Hall of Fame Classes


Vaughn Kezirian (Distinguished Service Award), Lynne Cowan, Patty Sheehan, Bobby Clampett and Donna Archer (representing her late husband, George Archer)

On Sept. 26 at Poppy Hills Golf Course, the NCGA inducted its ninth Hall of Fame Class Read More 


Sally Voss Krueger, Pat Hurst, Randy Haag, Margo Daniels (representing Distinguished Service Award recipient RJ Harper) and Marc Matoza (representing Tony Lema) 

On Sept. 27 at Poppy Hills Golf Course, the NCGA inducted its eighth Hall of Fame class Read More


Loren Roberts, Casey Boyns, Sheri Erskine (Distinguished Service Award, Juli Inkster and Dr. Alister MacKenzie (represented by Alister MacKenzie Society president Dr. Gary Nelson)

On Sept. 21 at Poppy Hills Golf Course, the NCGA inducted its seventh Hall of Fame class. Read More


NCGA Hall of Fame

Tom Watson, Joe Louis Barrow, Jr,, Helen Lengfeld, Charles Seaver and Derrell Biddy (Distinguished Service) 

Growing the game was undoubtedly the underlying theme of the Northern California Golf Association’s 2016 Hall of Fame.

On Sept. 15, 2016, Joe Louis Barrow, Jr. CEO of the First Tee; the late Helen Lengfeld – champion of the game for girls and women; Charles Seaver – late northern California amateur golf legend; and eight-time major championship winner Tom Watson – were inducted into the NCGA Hall of Fame at Poppy Hills Golf Course. Proceeds of the induction dinner were donated to Youth on Course. Read More


NCGA Hall of Fame

Robert Trent Jones Sr., Robert Trent Jones Jr. and Rees Jones

In a wonderful celebration of the contributions of the Jones family to Northern California, Robert Trent Jones Sr., Robert Trent Jones Jr. and Rees Jones were inducted into the fifth class of the NCGA Hall of Fame on Tuesday night of star-studded AT&T week at Spanish Bay.

“I wish Dad was here. Bobby, mom, dad and I were given the Golf Family of the Year award in 1979 by the Metropolitan Golf Association, and this feels a lot like that,” Rees Jones said. “My dad would be thanking my mom, and saying, ‘Good job, boys.’” Read more



Steve Desimone, Mark Gale, Wally Goodwin and Conrad Ray

The 2014 Hall of Fame Class was inducted Tuesday night of AT&T week at Spanish Bay, headlined by four college golf coaches who have led their Northern California schools to national championships: Cal’s Steve Desimone, San Jose State’s Mark Gale and Stanford’s Wally Goodwin and Conrad Ray. Read more


NCGA Hall of Fame

Kay Cockerill, Roger Maltbie and Johnny Miller

Johnny Miller, Roger Maltbie and Kay Cockerill all forged battle-tested games by playing amateur golf in Northern California.

After sharpening their games at courses such as The Olympic Club, San Jose Country Club and Pasatiempo, they each ascended to the professional ranks, playing and winning on golf’s biggest stages.

They are still a part of golf’s biggest stages, although now it is through their distinct and ongoing broadcast careers. For their accomplishments on and off the course, Miller, Maltbie and Cockerill were inducted into the NCGA Hall of Fame. Read more


NCGA Hall of Fame

2012 – Pebble Beach Co: Clint Eastwood, Dick Ferris, Arnold Palmer and Peter Ueberroth; Marion Hollins (Posthumous)

The NCGA and Pebble Beach Company partnered in creating Spyglass Hill in 1966. The NCGA honored the leadership of the company at the second annual NCGA Hall of Fame ceremony. Read more


NCGA Hall of Fame

2011 – Jack Bariteau, Grant Spaeth, Sandy Tatum and Ken Venturi

The NCGA inaugurated its Hall of Fame at the annual California Golf Writers & Broadcasters Association awards banquet by inducting Ken Venturi, Frank “Sandy” Tatum, C. Grant Spaeth and Jack Bariteau. Read more

NCGA Distinguished Service Award

The Hall of Fame ceremony also acknowledges the recipient of the NCGA’s Distinguished Service Award. The past winners are:

1982 Ernie Pieper 2004 Steve Desimone
1983 Mat Palacio 2005 Pearl Carey
1984 Charles Seaver 2006 Sally Pini (Posthumous) and Lyle Wehrman
1985 Fran A.Watson, Sr. & Jr. 2007 Ed Haber (Posthumous) and John Nakamura
1986 Tal Smith 2008 Dr. George Swendiman
1987 Joe Zablocki 2009 Frank Parr
1988 Milt Gabbs 2010 Brian and Juli Inkster
1989 Ken Morton 2011 Gary Vandeweghe
1990 John Zoller 2012 Marion Hollins (Posthumous)
1991 C. Grant Spaeth 2013 Roger Val
1992 Robert J. Foley 2014 Bo Links and Richard Harris
1993 Robert Hanna 2015 Rudy Staedler
1994 John Rhodenbaugh 2016 Derrell Biddy
1995 Sylvan Frank 2017 Sheri Erskine
1996 Bob Moore 2018 RJ Harper
1997 Len Ross 2019 Vaughn Kezirian
1998 Bob Roos 2020
1999 Bob Murphy 2021
2000 Gordon Scott 2022
2001 Art Rosenbaum 2023
2002 Sandy Tatum 2024
2003 Chuck VanLinge 2025