55th NCGA Four-Ball Championship | Spyglass Hill GC |  May 6-8, 2022


2022 champions Alex Chin and Jalen Griffin

The NCGA Four-Ball Championship began in 1967 at Spyglass Hill golf course and has been played at the Robert Trent Jones layout ever since.  The 54-hole competition consists of two-man teams in which both players play their own ball and the lowest score of the two is counted on each hole.

Only five teams have ever won the event more than once, with Tom Culligan III and Dan James (1968/1975), Casey Boyns and Joey Ferrari (1994/1996), Darryl Donovan and Randy Haag (2000/2010), Ryan Sloane and Taylor Travis (2008-2009) and Danny Paniccia and Mike Stieler (2013/2014). Haag has won the event a record four times as an individual, playing with Donovan (2000, 2010) and Bob Blomberg (1987, 1993).

The lowest 18-hole score ever posted is an 11-under 61 shot by 2021 champs Ethan Farnam and Ethan Ashbrook. The previous low was 62 by RC Orr and Scott Roak (2011), Brett Viboch and Bobby Bucey (2016) and Nick Moore and Matt Cohn (2016).  The lowest 54-hole total of 195 was recorded in 2016 by Bobby Bucey and Brett Viboch. 2017 champs Cole Nygren and Grady Smith won by a record 10-strokes.

In recent years, more than 200 teams have attempted to qualify for the championship which is played annually in early May.

EXEMPTIONS: Both partners must meet eligibility requirements, holding a handicap index of 5.4 or less.  Each exempt team is required to submit an entry prior to the closing date. 2022 Four-Ball Exemptions




Check Out NCGA GO for the best hotel rates in the area! 

Never played in an NCGA event before? Visit the Tournament Registration page for instructions on how to register.

Tournament Recaps

Not long after the final group came in to make things official, Alex Chin shared a celebratory moment with his mom and grandmother. Jalen Griffin, meanwhile stepped away to call his mom. The pair, who’ve been connected by University of San Francisco the last few years, delivered a special Mother’s Day gift, posting a sensational final round 9-under 63 at Spyglass Hill to win the annual NCGA Four-Ball Championship by four shots over the runner-up tandem of brothers Jimmy and Johnny Castles. Read Full Recap |View 2022 Photo Gallery

Just moments after their score officially posted, St. Mary’s teammates Ethan Ashbrook and Ethan Farnam received a text from Gaels head coach Scott Hardy. “Talk about having a great day. Great playing!” the text from Hardy read. On what was a great day for St. Mary’s golf, Ashbrook and Farnam were simply lights out. The two, who live together, would shoot a championship record 11-under 61 Sunday at Spyglass Hill to come in at 19-under 197, winning the annual NCGA Four-Ball Championship by five strokes over the runner-up tandem of University of San Francisco teammates Matthew Anderson and Tim Widing. Read Full 2021 Recap | View 2021 Photo Gallery

A pair of Tigers came up the biggest when it counted the most. University of Pacific seniors and Youth on Course alums Austin Fox and Casey Scott came roaring out of the gates and never looked back, posting a final round 8-under 64 Sunday to capture the annual NCGA Four-Ball Championship at par-72 Spyglass Hill. The duo finished with a 54-hole total of 18-under 198 to defeat tough luck runner-ups Jason Anthony and Randy Haag. Read Full 2019 Recap | View 2019 Photo Gallery 

Jeffrey Yamaguchi and Michael Jura were clutch when it mattered the most. The CSU-Stanislaus teammates played their last four holes at 2-under en route to a  final round 3-under 69 to win the annual NCGA Four-Ball Championship by a shot over the runner-up team of Randy Haag and Jason Anthony on a breezy Sunday at par-72 Spyglass Hill. While they’ve both won NCGA junior events, it was the first time Yamaguchi and Jura have won an NCGA championship. Read Full 2018 Recap | View 2018 Photo Gallery



Read Full 2017 Recap

Read Full 2016 Recap

Read Full 2015 Recap

Read Full 2014 Recap

Read Full 2013 Recap


Past Champions

1967 Ross Randall and Bob Smith. 75-69-69—213
1968 Tom Culligan III and Dan James 74-68-72—214
1969 Tom Culligan III and Terry Small 69-70-71—210
1970 Artie McNickle and Dennis Braden 70-69-70—209
1971 Doug Nelson and Skip Thompson 70-69-72—211
1972 Bob Enslow and Sandy Galbraith 70-68-72—210
1973 Mike Brannan and Jim Lathum 69-71-69—209
1974 Sandy Gillespie and Gary Conti 69-69-72—210
1975 Tom Culligan III and Dan James 70-72-70—212
1976 Scott Hoyt and Mike Barr 74-69-71—214
1977 Roger Armstrong and Steve Gazzaneo 64-71-74—209
1978 Dana Booth and Mike Chapman 67-64-73—204
1979 Larry Cartmill and Tom Castello 72-71-69—212
1980 David Larson and Matt Bloom 71-71-71—213
1981 Armando Claudio and Joe Tamburino 71-71-71—213
1982 Bill Corbett and John Susko 70-73-72—215
1983 Michael Blewitt and Dan Thurston 71-74-68—213
1984 Guy Bill and Bill Malley 72-73-69—214
1985 Rick Gordon and Bill Paulson 72-67-73—212
1986 Michael Barr and Conrad Nilmeier 70-74-69—213
1987 Bob Blomberg and Randy Haag 69-72-72—213
1988 Tom Culligan and Bob Callan 73-68-70—211
1989 Ken Webb and Jeff Burda 68-69-70—207
1990 Robert Olds and Scott Anderson 68-70-68—206
1991 Mike Lane and Jeff Thomas 70-69-69—208
1992 Tad Buchanan and George Kelley 73-65-71—209
1993 Bob Blomberg and Randy Haag 68-68-68—204
1994 Casey Boyns and Joey Ferrari 69-67-67—203
1995 Joel Kribel and Andy Barnes 69-72-67—208
1996 Casey Boyns and Joey Ferrari 69-70-70—209
1997 Cliff Davis and Eddie Davis 70-71-68—209
1998 Brady Stockton and Matt Larson 68-71-68—207
1999 Scott Watson and Ray Otis 71-69-70—210
2000 Darryl Donovan and Randy Haag 66-66-71—203
2001 Robert Hamilton and Phil Cuthbertson 69-64-67—200
2002 Phillip Huff and Rob Martin 67-69-69—205
2003 Todd Barsotti and Jeff Wilson 66-66-65—197
2004 Jason Boyd and Scott Gordon 67-64-66—197
2005 Scott Hardy and Rick Reinsberg 68-63-68—199
2006 Cliff Smith and Jamie Looper 70-71-66—207
2007 Kevin Kobalter and Zack Miller 67-66-73—206
2008 Taylor Travis and Ryan Sloane 65-66-69—200
2009 Taylor Travis and Ryan Sloane 67-69-66—202
2010 Darryl Donovan and Randy Haag 69-66-79—204
2011 Jason Higton and J.R. Becko 68-68-69—205
2012 Russell Humphrey and James Watt 66-70-69—205
2013 Danny Paniccia and Mike Stieler 68-65-67—200
2014 Danny Paniccia and Mike Stieler 71-67-69—207
2015 Scott Raber and Ben Corfee 69-64-66—199
2016 Bobby Bucey and Brett Viboch 69-62-64—195
2017 Grady Smith and Cole Nygren 64-66-68—198
2018 Michael Jura and Jeffrey Yamaguchi 69-67-69—205
2019 Austin Fox and Casey Scott 68-66-64—198
2021 Ethan Farnam and Ethan Ashbrook 70-66-61—197
2022 Alex Chin and Jalen Griffin 67-68-63—198