Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA Valley Amateur Championship

14th NCGA Valley Amateur Championship | Del Rio CC |  August 7-8, 2017


2016 champion Nick Moore

Played for the first time in 2004 as a replacement for the San Joaquin and Sacramento Valley championships, the NCGA Valley Amateur has become a staple in the tournament season.

Drawing exceptional players during the late summer, the Valley Amateur has 500 points up for grabs to the champion at a time when the Player-of-the-Year race is coming to a close.

The 36-hole stroke play event is played at a venue in the San Joaquin or Sacramento valley each year and provides a top-level championship opportunity. Nick Moore is the only player to have won the championship three times.

A senior division is also held with past champions including several Senior Player of the Year honorees: Carl Selkirk, Gary Vanier, Jim Knoll and Jeff Burda. Vanier is the only three-time winner of the senior division having won in 2006 at Elkhorn CC and in 2007 and 2013, both at Riverbend GC. Knoll is the only other multiple-time winner, winning in 2008 at Winchester CC and again in 2011 at Riverbend GC.

Trevor Clayton set the single round championship record in 2014, shooting a 10-under 62 at Reserve at Spanos Park. Clayton’s 36-hole total of 133 tied 2009 winner Steven Chung for low 36-hole total. In 2015, Nick Moore defeated Blake Hathcoat in a 9-hole sudden death playoff. With his win in 2016, Moore became the first player to win the Valley Am three times.

Tournament Information

Entry Fee: $170

ELIGIBILITY: Handicap Index of 5.4 or less (Championship); 7.4 or less (Senior). ENTRIES CLOSE: July 23, 2017 FORMAT: 36 holes stroke play (18 holes per day).

Tournament Recaps

Bayonet/Black Horse GC member Nick Moore did it again. He still needs to do a bit more, however, to claim NCGA nick90x90Player of the Year honors. The 34-year-old Moore shot a final round 1-over 73 Wednesday at Morgan Creek GC in Roseville to come in at 2-under 142, defeating runner-up Juan Gonzalez by four strokes. With the victory, Moore earns 500 points, which moves him to a total of 1,399 in the race for Player of the Year honors. Read Full 2016 Recap

moore90x90A thermometer hovering around 100 degrees, 18  grueling holes of regulation and a nine-hole sudden death playoff against an opponent who simply would not budge. All that, plus NCGA Player of the Year honors on the line. In an example of fortitude and willpower, Monterey resident Nick Moore conquered them all. Moore, 33, outlasted 17-year-old Blake Hathcoat of Clovis in what was one of the greatest NCGA finishes ever, beating Hathcoat with a par on the 9th hole of a sudden-death playoff to win the 12th annual NCGA Valley Amateur Championship on a stifling Sunday at par-72 Dragonfly GC in Madera. Read Full 2015 Recap | View 2015 Photo Gallery

Trevor Clayton knew exactly what was at stake, and he came through. Clayton, who lives in Fresno, shot a final round 1-under Thursday at Clayton90by90par-72 Reserve at Spanos Park, wrapping up not only the NCGA Valley Amateur Championship title, but also NCGA Player of the Year honors. The 20-year-old, who is red-shirting this year and will begin attending Fresno State in the fall of 2015, finished the 36-hole championship with a total of 11-under 133, defeating runner-up Jeff Hoffman by four strokes. Read Full 2014 Recap | View 2014 Photo Gallery

Nick Moore made things look easy for the second day in a row at the 10th Annual NCGA Valley Amateur Championship, winning the event Tuesday at Riverbend GC by five shots. As he stressed the day before, Moore did exactly what he said he planned to do and play golf one shot at a time. “It was a good day,” said the newly crowned champion. “I stuck to the game plan and took it one step at a time.” Following his first round 5-under-par 67, Moore fired a final round score of 2-under-par 70 to finish with a 7-under-par 137 total. Playing his first round without a bogey, the first-round leader nearly duplicated the feat again, making only one bogey Tuesday, which came on his 31st hole of the tournament (No. 13). Read Full 2013 Recap | View 2013 Photo Gallery

Spending the majority of his days at Riverbend GC over the past five years, Danny Paniccia found it refreshing to be holding the NCGA Valley Amateur Championship crystal trophy at his place of work Tuesday. After two solid days of play, Paniccia won the 9th Annual NCGA Valley Amateur Championship by a four-stroke margin, posting a two-day total of 141. Paniccia, a golf shop attendant at Riverbend GC, followed his three-under par 69 on Monday with an even-par 72 on Tuesday, a day where fellow co-leaders Ryan Forst and Mike Stieler faded. Read Full 2012 Recap | View 2012 Photo Gallery

Past Champions

2004 Bob Niger at Winchester CC 75-66–141
2005 Scott Hardy at San Joaquin CC 71-69–140
2006 Bob Niger at Elkhorn CC 69-68–137
2007 Cody Slover at Riverbend GC 69-71–140
2008 Steven Chung at Winchester CC 69-77–146
2009 Steven Chung at Turlock GCC 67-66–133
2010 Keith Okasaki at Morgan Creek GCC 67-72–139
2011 Logan Goulding at Riverbend GC 74-71–145
2012 Danny Paniccia at Riverbend GC 69-72–141
2013 Nick Moore at Riverbend GC 67-70–137
2014 Trevor Clayton at Reserve at Spanos Park 62-71–133
2015 Nick Moore at Dragonfly GC 70-67–137
2016 Nick Moore at Morgan Creek GC 69-73–142

Past Senior Champions

2004 Carl Selkirk at Winchester CC 72-74–146
2005 Frank Abbott at San Joaquin CC 68-74–142
2006 Gary Vanier at Elkhorn CC 73-66–139
2007 Gary Vanier at Riverbend GC 70-69–139
2008 Jim Knoll at Winchester CC 77-65–142
2009 Herb Jensen at Turlock GCC 74-73–147
2010 Paul Balatti at Morgan Creek GCC 72-71–143
2011 Jim Knoll at Riverbend GC 72-67–139
2012 Jeff Burda at Riverbend GC 73-70–143
2013 Gary Vanier at Riverbend GC 73-72–145
2014 Joey Ferrari at Reserve at Spanos Park 70-71–141
2015 Dale Bouguennec at Dragonfly GC 72-70–142
2016 Mark Morgan at Morgan Creek GC 71-72–143