Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

Cypress Point Club to Host 2025 Walker Cup Matches

December 15, 2016

Cypress Point Club to Host 2025 Walker Cup Matches


If you’re one of the many who’ve been pining for a chance to attend a championship or at least see mystical Cypress Point Club on television, your opportunity is coming.

On Thursday, the USGA announced that Cypress Point Club will host the 2025 Walker Cup Match on Sept. 6-7. It’ll mark the first time the international competition, which features 10 amateurs representing the United States taking on 10 amateurs from Great Britain and Ireland, has been held at Cypress Point since 1981, the club’s only previous USGA competition.

The USGA also announced that Seminole Golf Club in Florida will host the 2021 Walker Cup Matches.

“The selections of Seminole Golf Club and Cypress Point Club as Walker Cup venues are emblematic of what George Herbert Walker intended when he helped create the first Match in 1922,” said Stuart Francis, USGA Championship Committee chairman. “To have two of the United States’ greatest courses as host sites will not only produce memorable competitions but reinforces the stature of amateur golf in this country.”

Designed by Alister MacKenzie in collaboration with Robert Hunter and opened in 1929, Cypress Point Club in addition to the 28th Walker Cup hosted “The Match,” a 1956 four-ball competition between professionals Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson and amateurs Ken Venturi and Harvie Ward, and was one of three courses used for the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am for more than 40 years.


The 2025 Walker Cup match will mark the third time the event has been in California and fifth time the championship has been held west of the Mississippi River.

In the 1981 matches at Cypress Point, the USA defeated Great Britain and Ireland, 15-9. Jodie Mudd, a two-time USGA champion, and Corey Pavin, who went on to win the 1995 U.S. Open, were the USA’s top point producers. GB&I’s Roger Chapman, the 2012 U.S. Senior Open winner, won twice in singles play and one foursomes match.

The 2015 USA team featured 2015 NCGA Amateur Match Play champion Maverick McNealy and 2011 Junior Tour of Northern California Player of the Year Bryson DeChambeau. Former Cal standout Michael Weaver, who was runner-up at the 2011 NCGA Amateur Match Play Championship, represented the U.S. in the 2013 competition.

“The members of the Cypress Point Club are honored to give back to the game of golf and share our wonderful treasure with one of the world’s greatest amateur competitions,” said club president Peter K. Barker. “We have been proud to host a number of notable match-play events throughout our club’s history. In all, the course and the competitors performed superbly. We enthusiastically look forward to the 2025 Walker Cup.”

The Walker Cup Match is played over two days and consists of 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches. The USA leads the overall series, 35-9-1, but each side has won seven times since 1989. Four of those 14 matches have been decided by one point.

NCGA Staff w/ USGA


Author: Jerry Stewart

Share This Post On