Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA/CIF Boys High School Championship

Results: Individual  |  Team

May 19, 2014

Foothill High School of Pleasanton, which recently won the North Coast Section Division I Tournament of Champions, is headed to the California Interscholastic Federation State Championship finals.

On Monday, the Falcons shot 20-over 380 to win the NCGA/CIF Boys Northern California Championship held at par-72 Sierra View Country Club near Sacramento.

Foothill, which has now won NorCals a record six times (breaking a tie with Stevenson) and three times in the last five years, was led by John Fracisco’s 1-over 73 and Tanner Hughes’ 75. Other scores for the Falcons were Raj Chekuri (76), Ryan Knop (77) and Ryan Maund (79).


2014 NCGA/CIF NorCal champs Foothill of Pleasanton.

Placing second at 22-over 382, and also earning a berth into the State Championships, slated for June 4 at San Gabriel Country Club (South Course), was Central Catholic of Modesto. It’s the first time that Central Catholic, a member of the Western Athletic Conference,  has advanced to the State finals.

The Raiders low guy was Matthew Robinson, who came in at even par. Other Central Catholic scores were Trey Wesenberg (75), Chris Ebster (77), Michael Kelly (78) and Mac O’Brien (80).

The last team to move on after placing third at 384 was Dublin High. The Gaels were paced by Jacob Solomon’s solid round of 71 that featured four birdies and three bogeys.

Other Dublin scores were Chris Larsen and William Choi at 77, Rei Echizenza at 78 and Hayden Hui at 81.

Granite Bay and Campolindo both finished tied for fourth at 387. Stevenson of Pebble Beach, the defending State champions, failed to advance after finishing 10th at 382.

On the Individual front, Will Brueckner of Acalanes High was medalist with a brilliant round of 66 that featured seven birdies and one bogey. Also going low was De La Salle’s Johsua McCarthy, who posted a 68. McCarthy currently holds the No.1 spot in the Junior Tour of Northern California points race for Player of the Year honors.


Medalist Will Brueckner of Acalanes High.

Justin Suh of Evergreen, who the 2013 JTNC Player of the Year, finished tied for third at 71 with Dublin’s Solomon.

Overall, the top nine individuals not on an advancing team also earned spots into the State finals.

Other players advancing included Noah Norton of Pleasant Valley (72), Jeffrey Inouye-Wong of Granite Bay (72), Jack Burlison of Palma (72), Jim Coon of Campolindo (73), Jimmy Castles of Bellarmine (73) and Derek Ackerman of Sacred Heart Prep (74).


Author: rfarb

Share This Post On