Due to weather conditions our phones are down.
Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA/CIF High School Boys Championship

Diablo Grande GC
May 20, 2013

2013 NorCal Boys Golf Handbook – Pairings/Results


2013 NCGA/CIF High School Boys Champions: De La Salle H.S.

PATTERSON – The De La Salle High School team of Justin Pagila, Justin Nuval, Josh McCarthy, Jason Hurtz, Cole Houghton and Ben Chambers won the NCGA/CIF High School Boys Championship on Monday at Diablo Grande GC. The Concord-located high school posted a team score of 373, 13-over par, in an event where the top five scores of a six-man team are recognized.

De La Salle was led by Pagila as he fired a score of three-under par 69. Pagila, a senior on the team, was also in the running for top individual honor, but finished alone in second with his sub-70 round. Chambers posted the next best score with a round of three-over par 75, which included three birdies, four bogeys and a double bogey. McCarthy and Hurtz each had rounds of 76, four-over par, while Nuval had a round of 77, five-over par. Houghton was the only player’s score not to be counted as he finished with a score of nine-over par 81.

In second place, and joining De La Salle in the state championship in two weeks, was Archbishop Mitty High School in San Jose at 382. All six players from the San Jose-based high school fired sub-80 rounds, proving the team’s depth and consistency. Shintaro Ban led Archbishop Mitty with a two-over par 74, while Ed Hackett was second on the team with a three-over par 75. Austin Lin had the third best score on the squad with a four-over par 76, while Max Kirchgesner carded a five-over par 77. The fifth and final counted score went to either Ryan Cuenca or Owen Lin with both players posting scores of 79, seven-over par.

The third and final team to advance to state championship was R.L. Stevenson High School of Pebble Beach, who posted a team score of 386. Stevenson junior Seb Crampton and senior Michael Decker led the way for their team, each putting together a round of one-over par 73. Drew Nelson was next in line to contribute with a three-over par 75, while the fourth best score went to Nick Simmons at 10-over par 82. Kyle John had the fifth best score with a 11-over par 83, while the throw-away score was Sunny Yan’s 85, 13-over par.

In the individual competition, Ryan Maund took medalist honors with a four-under par 68. Maund of Foothill High School played a flawless round not taking a single bogey on the day and capitalizing at the beginning and end of his round. Starting off the 10th tee, Maund opened up with a birdie and then went the next 15 holes making all pars. On the eighth hole, Maund made an eagle-2 on the 376 yard par-4 and then followed it with a birdie on the par-5 ninth.

The other eight players joining Maund as individuals not a part of a team for the state championship include: Corey Pereira, Andrew Buchanan, Truett Waldon, Nick Rivera, Justin Suh, Bradley Knox, Will Brink and Miguel Delgado.

The CIF Boys State Championship will take place at Quail Lodge GC in Carmel on June 5.

Author: Jerry Stewart

Share This Post On