Due to weather conditions our phones are down.
Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

CWAC State Senior Championship

Corral de Tierra CC
May 14-16, 2013


May 16, 2013

2013 CWAC Senior Overall Champion: Kim Eaton

SALINAS – Kim Eaton of Tempe, Ariz. won the 35th Annual California Women’s Amateur Championship at Corral de Tierra CC, firing a 54-hole score of 227, 11-over par. Eaton, who started the day with a one-shot advantage, finished the day the same, putting together rounds of 80, 73 and 74.

Eaton, who held a one-shot advantage going into Thursday’s round over Juvy Timan of Watsonville, held it over Lynne Cowan after Thursday’s final round. Cowan surged up the leaderboard with a final round two-under par 70 to finish at 228, 12-over par; her first two rounds consisted of a 78 and 80. Timan fell to third place with a final round 78 to finish at 232, 16-over par. Her first two rounds comprised of a 75 and 79. Fourth place went to Sandy Woodruff of Santa Cruz with a 54-hole score of 234, while fifth place went to Pebble Beach’s Marianne Towersey at 238.

In the second flight, Sally Tomlinson of Walnut Creek and Sue Stryker tied for first place with a gross score of 259. Tomlinson’s rounds consisted of 84, 94 and 81, while Stryker’s rounds went 93, 83 and 83. In third place was San Francisco’s Barbara Azevedo at 266.

The champion of the third flight was Vivian Arnold of Santa Cruz with a 54-hole score of 274. Tied for second place at 281 were Sela Park of Carmel Valley and Catherine Smith of Oakland.

In the fourth flight, Barbara Poirier of Aptos earned top prize with a 54-hole score of 294. In a tie for second place were Nancy Sartor of Sacramento and Sandy Boyd of San Rafael, who each finished with a score of 297.

The 36th Annual California Women’s Amateur Championship is scheduled for May 19-21, 2014.


Photo Gallery

Author: Jerry Stewart

Share This Post On