Due to weather conditions our phones are down.
Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

8th Annual NCGA Women’s Net Amateur Championship

Poppy Hills GC
July 19-20, 2012

Player InformationPairings/Results   

July 20, 2012

President Flight Winners: Diana Tan (Champion), Kris Handsaker (runner-up) and Lori Shaw (third).

PEBBLE BEACH – A day after ideal conditions for the 8th Annual NCGA Women’s Net Amateur Championship at Poppy Hills GC, your typical Monterey Peninsula summer weather appeared as temperatures dropped and the fogged rolled in. Still some things remained constant.

One of those was the winner of the president flight—players with handicaps of 14.4 or less—Diana Tan of San Mateo. After posting a net 3-under par 69 to take a share of the 18-hole lead, Tan went low again posting net score of 70, 2-under par, to finish at a 36-hole total of 139. The San Mateo resident was three shots clear of second place finisher and first round co-leader Kris Handsaker, who finished at a 36-hole total of 142. In third place was Lori Shaw, who shot the low net round of the flight with a 5-under par 67 on Friday. Shaw started the day in a three-way tie for seventh after opening with a net 76, but her final round 67 allowed her to climb up the leaderboard and post a 36-hole net score of 143.

“It’s great [to win], I have been playing this tournament since it started and I have never placed,” said Tan.

Director Flight Winners: Karen O'Neill (Champion), Kristina Ramos (runner-up) and Marlene Keating (third).

The director flight, which features players with handicaps between 14.5 and 20.5, Karen O’Neill of San Rafael beat out three players who started in front of her to take first place. O’Neill began the day alone in fourth after an opening round of 74 good enough to be paired in the final group and able to observe her closest competition for the final 18 holes. After posting a 1-over par 73 to finish at 147, she captured a one-stroke victory as none of the players in the groups in front of her went ridiculously low. Finishing in a tie for second was Kristina Ramos and Marlene Keating at a 36-hole total of 148. Ramos, who was awarded second place via a scorecard playoff, shot the low round of the flight with a final round net score of 70. Keating, who was awarded third place, followed her opening 75 with a 73 on Friday.

“It’s fantastic [to win], but I come out here just to have fun, so certainly it’s a bonus,” said O’Neill.

Secretary Flight Winners: Karen Biscaha (Champion), Jenny Shone (runner-up) and Patricia Van Kirk (third).

Karen Biscaha of Fair Oaks went wire-to-wire to win the secretary flight—players with handicaps above 20.6—as she posted her second net score in the 60s on Friday. After an opening round of 4-under par, net 68, Biscaha fired a final round net score of 3-under 69 to finish at a 137 total. Jenny Shone moved up from a three-way tie in fourth place to take second place finishing with an even-par 144; Shone shaved four strokes off her game as she followed her net score of 74 on Thursday with a net score of 70 on Friday to pass several players. In third place was Patricia Van Kirk, who finished with a 36-hole total of 145. Van Kirk proved to be very consistent both days as she followed her opening round net score of 72 with a final round score of 73.

“It’s exciting [to win], it makes me very happy and I look forward to competing in a higher division [in the future],” said Biscaha.

Next year with Poppy Hills GC under renovation, the NCGA Women’s Net Amateur Championship will move to Quail Lodge GC.

Photo Gallery

July 19, 2012


PEBBLE BEACH – Mother Nature provided beautiful weather for the first round of the 8th annual NCGA Women’s Net Amateur as players of all three flights experienced sunny skies and pleasant temperatures, a treat for July on the Monterey Peninsula.

Players from the president flight were the first to go tee off and at the conclusion of 18 holes Diana Tan and Kris Handsaker co-lead with net scores of 3-under par, 69. Tan and Handsaker were the only under-par scores in the president flight, which consists of players with handicaps 14.4 and below. Playing right on their allotted handicap and coming in with a net score of even-par 72 were Dorothy Donnelly and Linda Wilson, who are tied for third after 18 holes. Susan Taggard and Ellen Bradley are tied for fifth each turning in net scores of 2-over par, 74. Defending 2011 president flight winner Martha Haggler leads a group of three in a tie for seventh after an opening round of 76.

In the director flight, players with handicaps between 14.5 and 20.5, red numbers were even harder to come by as Noreen Feig captured the only one of day. Her 1-under par 71 was one stroke better than Kari Vadnais, who shot a net score of even-par 72 to go into tomorrow’s round alone in second place. Kathy Weed is in third at 1-over par 73, Karen O’Neill sits in fourth at 2-over par 74 and Marlene Keating resides in fifth at 3-over par 75. After the top five positions, the field tightens up as two players are tied for sixth at 4-over par 76 and four are tied for eighth at 6-over par 78. Defending 2011 director flight winner Charlotte Wells is near the bottom of the pack, alone in 20th, after opening with a net score of 13-over par 85.

The last set of players to tee off was from the secretary flight, which features players with handicaps of 20.6 or above. Karen Biscaha took a solid lead on the rest of the competitors as she posted a net score of 4-under par 68. Patricia Van Kirk, Pearl Ki Ping Chen and Belinda Kendle find themselves in a three-way tie for second after each posted a net score of even-par 72. Behind them is another trio, Wendy Seagraves, Kim Zakar and Jenny Shone, who are tied for fifth at 2-over par 74. Last year’s secretary flight winner Kelly Tague is 13 strokes off the lead as she carded a 9-over par net 81, which currently puts her in a tie for 15th place.

Tomorrow the final round of the championship will conclude with play beginning at 7:30 a.m.

Author: lfudenna

Share This Post On