Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA/CIF High School Boys Championship

Butte Creek CC
May 21, 2012

Team and Individual Results

CHICO – Foothill High School took first place for the second time in three years at the NCGA/CIF High School Boys Championship. The win qualified Foothill for the CIF Boys State Championship June 8 at San Gabriel CC—which includes the six best high school teams in California, three from the North and three from the South—for the third straight year. Joining them, representing Northern California high schools, are RL Stevenson School, which qualified for its second straight year, and Granite Bay High School.

The team from Foothill High School was led by 2011 CIF Boys State Championship runner-up Nicolo Galleti, who shot a 3-under par 69, which included four birdies and one bogey. The team format, which takes five of the best six scores from a team, saw all six Foothill team members play exceptionally well as each shot 76 or better for a 5-over par 365 total. Coming in just one shot back was RL Stevenson School, which posted a 6-over par 366. Stevenson was led by Kyle John, who shot a 2-under par 70, which included three birdies and one bogey. Granite Bay High School took third posting a team total of 13-over par 373, three shots better than fourth place finisher Del Oro High School. Granite Bay was led by Alex Gibbs, who fired a 2-under par 70 consisting of six birdies and four birdies.

Finishing first in the individual division was Aaron Beverly from Armijo High School posting a 4-under par 68. He beat out Jonathan Garrick of St. Francis High School and Kraig McLeod of Carmel High School in a sudden-death playoff, as the two also finished at 4-under par 68.The other six individuals to qualify for the state championship include: Tyler Collier (Pleasant Valley H.S.), Cody Blick (San Ramon Valley H.S.), Andrej Bevins (Christian Brothers H.S.), Austin Smotherman (Del Oro H.S.), Corey Pereira (Ponderosa H.S.) and Justin Raskin (Del Oro H.S.). Raskin was the last player to qualify as he had to beat Zach Smith of Amador Valley H.S. in a playoff.

Author: lfudenna

Share This Post On