Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

18th Annual Associate Club Net Amateur Championship

Poppy Hills
October 3-4, 2011

Results & Scorecards

October 4, 2011

PEBBLE BEACH – The 18th Annual NCGA Associate Club Net Amateur Championship concluded at Poppy Hills today awarding three champions’ titles.  Men and women from associate clubs across Northern California competed in the following handicap divisions: President’s Flight (9.5 and below), Director’s Flight (9.6 – 14.2) and Secretary’s Flight (14.3 and above).

Gerald Munday held on to his first round lead to win the President’s Flight.  Consistent play over both rounds helped Munday, of PGG Rancho Canada GC, card an impressive 14-under net 130 to take home the title.  Sterling Fairholm of eClub East Bay earned second place honors, posting a 10-under net 134.  Joseph Francis (Dot Squad),  Steve Oase (Pacific Service Employees GC) and Goran Kalas (eClub East Bay) tied for third place with matching net 140s.

It was a fight to the finish in the Director’s Flight, with the top three competitors all within one stroke of each other.   Ernest Demartini of Agilient Soco GC fired a 5-under net 139 to secure first place.  Montclair GC’s Lisa De La Sol, last year’s champion in the Director’s Flight, took home another medal, this time second place after posting a net 140.  Craig McGowen of Valley Baggers GC rounded out the podium spots in third with a net 141.

Steven Blum jumped up four spots from the first round to capture the championship title in the Secretary’s Flight.  The champion from Bell GC of SF carded a second-round 9-under net 63 to log an overall 10-under net 134.  Bruce Alcoran of Caltrans Capitol GC finished in a close second one stroke back.  First-round frontrunner Marty McVeigh of NAS GA and Renato O’Neal of Facilities, Architects & Real Estate GC tied for third place at net 137.

President's Flight: Champion Gerald Munday; Runner-up Sterling Fairholm; Third place finishers Joseph Francis, Goran Kalas, and Steve Oase

Director's Flight: Champion Ernest Demartini, Runner-up Lisa De La Sol and Third place finisher Craig McGowen

Secretary's Flight: Champion Steven Blum; Runner-up Bruce Alcoran; and Third place finishers Marty McVeigh and Renato O'Neal

Author: Alex Anderson

Share This Post On